Energy – Improves Physical Performance

Believe it or not, music can actually improve your physical performance. In 2005, there was a study done in the UK and they found that listening to music during sports training or exercising can boost athletic performance by up to 20 percent. This added amount is approximately the same as if someone were to use illegal performance-enhancing drugs. Music is able to accomplish this because it increases your blood flow by speeding your heart rate slightly, which can also improve circulation. Because of this faster heart rate, it also more effectively sends oxygen and nutrients throughout the body and the brain. This helps to raise energy levels as the cells in your body respond. In addition to these health benefits, it also helps with maintaining a steady pace, reducing the number of false steps, and improving coordination. Another reason music is helping in physical activity is that it increases you focus and zones you into whatever you are doing in that moment. It drowns out all the background noises and people and all your attention is on the music and your workout. It also can keep your mind off the difficulty of the workout, so it can encourage you to do more and work harder without actually feeling like you are.

I always have to listen to music when I run and I for some reason I always believed that it helped me, and now I know for sure that it does. Ever since I researched this topic I have started to listen to music as much and as often as possible when I am training to help boost my performance in a safe and healthy way. I have learned that the best music to listen to when doing an intense workout, like cardio, is anything with a fast tempo, and songs with a slower tempo are best during a cool down or with a less intense exercise.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started